Saddest side of the story

Thanking God is the only thing I want to do right now for the blessings that He provide us. Though I can really sense my mom’s fear about our situation yet she’s controlling  the kids to notice all about it. She smiles and still cracking for jokes at times so I did. But despite of the “fake” smiles on our faces both my mom and I worry so much. We think of where to get food for the kids. And our house rental, a week before it reaches two unpaid months, and the bills, gas, etc. Maybe my mom really feels bad seeing that I just only have P500.00 left in my pocket before the two gallons of alkaline water costs P90.00.

While doing house errands I thought of friends who possibly have extra cash to be lent. And I text Jeff. Few minutes  he texted back to say “I am sorry”. I tried another one, Gina, who answered me the same.

This is really a serious problem. Christmas is just in the corner, and my daughter’s birthday as well. In fact, this girl asked me during our lunch of what I would prepare for her birthday on December 5; she will turn 10. I smiled at her in silence because I really don’t know what to say. That’s one of the reasons why I am really hoping to borrow money from friends aside from the fact that we can’t take meals and kids might not attend their classes. I’m really in trouble.

Why am I in this situation? Simply because I resigned from my job because another school hired me as a full time faculty last September 11. I actually had passed requirements on October 25 as per advised by the Hiring Officer, and forwarded resignation letter to previous employer October 12. It was with my high expectation to join the school after the examination, series of interview and teacher’s demonstration with department deans and lead faculty, and the Vice-President for Academic Affairs in the panel room. Unfortunately, in the afternoon of October 25 a call from the said school changed everything and crashed out my plans, the Hiring Officer said that my application is not possible this semester (November to March) for not-so-clear reason as I was not able to understand what she was telling me because of shock. From then on I work out to find a new job but it seems most schools are not accepting new faculty during the second semester. Therefore, I need to wait until the semester ends.

In my calculation it would take seven (7) months before I can go back to teaching. The saddest side of my story is all I had when I left the previous school was my last 9 days salary and 13th months benefit which I spent the past days for our living. I don’t even have savings since I earn very minimal from the job. Now, I am just depending on siblings and friends donation for our daily expenses. But despite of this, I am still believing for the positive vibes, there will come a good job offer with the guidance of the Lord. Though my family and I are financially paralyzed this moment, I have so many things to be thankful the Lord. Our lives, of course, is the best gift. I am praising him that my family has rice and noodles in the table, that we can still laugh and smile with each other. And above all, there is love in our heart, the gift that nobody can take away from us.

 

One thought on “Saddest side of the story

  1. Sobra naman yung school na yan te Rem! You can actually sue them for loss of income ah! Kung malapit ka lang pwede mo ipa-DOLE yang school na yan for making you think that you already have a new job and then making you wait. Hay. I am really sorry to hear about your financial woes. I know how you feel because I was in that situation din in the past and napakahirap talaga lalo na at ikaw ang provider. I really pray that you find the best solution to your problems the soonest possible time.

    By the way, are you still blogging for income? Nakakakuha ka pa ba sa PU2B?

Leave a comment