Derek Redmond story in 1992 Barcelona Olympic inspired me

There are things that give reasons for an individual to keep through, fight and hope. In my case, not only once but in many times I thought of giving up, to end sacrifices for I feel that I am tired enough to go on. But the Lord is always in the corner, sending His instrument to extend His love for me. It might not be in the form which I needed most but in kind which has greatly effect in my heart: His WORDS.

I thought that attending my graduate class today would just be a lost of time and money; three hundred pesos expenses to travel back and forth from home to school in Manila  damage greatly to my budget. Less of my expectation, I will find a bit comfort with my professor, Dr. Nilo Rosas with his inspirational words and video clippings which somehow eye opener for me. I feel that those clippings were designed specially for me, a simple reminder that in time I would surpass all the trials in my life.

While watching some of his clippings most of students were crying. He showed to us Derek Redmond’s fate to finish his goal, along with his supportive father on his side  despite of the leg pain he was suffering during the 1992 Barcelona Olympic. Also the salvation story of the man who opted to save lives of many people over his young boy, and the story of the one eye mother who because of her love to her child she donated her eye to him when he lost his eye during an accident.

Those were very inspiring. I truly related with the stories for I know how hard dealing with problems. I feel better for a while. But the feelings goes out as I went back home because the reality is in there. Stepping out the classroom means welcoming the reality where I belong. Honestly speaking, inspirational thoughts from Dr. Rosas gradually faded out because truth can’t be denied of. I need to think over and over again of how to solve problems that are waiting for immediate solutions. And I have no one to run to. Everybody turns their back to me.

There is slight pain on my head while writing this post. I maybe pressured enough this time of seeking solutions; and who do you think will not, if you know you’re landlady would come tomorrow for the two months house rental, and your kids would ask for their daily school allowances.  Who will not be in the hot sit knowing that only few pesos were left on the pocket’ how about the kid who will celebrate birthday on Wednesday, the electric bill on Friday? Gosh! I’m getting crazy!

But despite of these, still I am hopeful, believing and waiting. I won’t give up! Fight!

Leave a comment